MINUTES OF THE HOUSTON FIREFIGHTERS' RELIEF AND RETIREMENT FUND

A regular meeting of the Houston Firefighters' Relief and Retirement Fund (HFRRF) Board of Trustees convened at the Fund offices at 4225 Interwood North Parkway, Houston, Texas 77032 on Tuesday, December 17, 2024, at 10:00 a.m.

Trustees present were Brett R. Besselman (Chair), David O. Lantrip (Vice Chair), Lisa R. Slagle (Secretary), Gerard L. Daniels, Pete Ng, and Albertino Mays. Trustees absent were Arif Rasheed David Riegor, and Edward Llewellyn. Also present were staff members Timothy Schauer (Executive Director), Claudia McInnis (Director of Finance and Administration), Dalia De La Cruz (Director of Member Services), Andrea Sharayha (Director of Human Resources), and Adam E. Smith (General Counsel).

The Chair called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.

The Board recited the Pledge of Allegiance and observed a moment of silence.

The Chair invited comments from the Public. No comments were received.

There was a motion by David O. Lantrip, seconded by Pete Ng, to approve the following items listed on the consent agenda:

- A. Approval of the minutes of the regular Board meeting held on Tuesday, November 19, 2024.
- B. Approval of the minutes of the Pension Benefits Committee meeting held on Tuesday, November 19, 2024.
- C. Approval of the minutes of the Budget and Audit Committee meeting held on Tuesday, November 19, 2024.
- D. Approval of the minutes of the Memorial Committee meeting held on Tuesday, November 19, 2024.
- E. Approval of the minutes of the Investment Committee meeting held on Tuesday, December 3, 2024.

The motion carried.

The Chair presented Albertino May's letter of interest to continue serving as a citizen member trustee of the Board. Additionally, the Chair explained that only the elected members of the Board may vote to appoint an individual for the citizen member position. Gerard L. Daniels, seconded by Pete Ng, moved to re-appoint Albertino to the citizen member position on the Board of Trustees for a two-year term effective January 1, 2025. All present and elected members of the Board voted unanimously in favor of the motion.

Board Minutes December 17, 2024 Page 2 of 2

Albertino Mays and Pete Ng nominated all the current Board of Trustees Officers for calendar year 2025, as follows:

Brett Besselman for the Chair position David O. Lantrip for the Vice Chair position Lisa R. Slagle for the Secretary position

No further nominations were received.

The Director of Finance and Administration reviewed the Fund's consolidated financials and highlights for the 1st quarter fiscal year ending September 30, 2024, noting the Plan's net position at approximately \$5.532 billion.

The General Counsel provided an update on the declaratory judgment lawsuit relating to informal marriage.

The meeting adjourned at 10:06 a.m. on a motion by Pete Ng, seconded by Albertino Mays. The motion carried.

Respectfully submitted,

Lisa R. Slagle Board Secretary